"Support comes in many different ways in this type of environment, from a simple hello to a newcomer to helping someone write a letter.” – Oluseun, Peer Mentor Winner 2017

Since 2015, the PLA awards have recognised outstanding educators in the prison system - be they officers, teachers, librarians, governors or peer mentors. The awards are unique in that every single nomination comes from a serving prisoner. In 2017, the PLA received over 400 nominations. 

Read more about the winners in our magazine 

2017 PLA Award Winners



All photos credit: Jessica Bernard / Prisoners' Education Trust

In 2017, the awards were held at De Montfort University, Leicester, and were presented by prison officer-turned singer/songwriter Sam Bailey. 

Bobby Kasanga, writer, footballer and PET Alumnus, performs a poem he wrote inspired by the award nomination letters:


2017 winners 

Youth Estate

Anthony Sproston, HMYOI Werrington

Jack Peters, HMYOI Werrington

Daniel Rochester, HMYOI Werrington

Emmanuel, HMYOI Werrington


Winner: Roxy Ball, HMP Ranby 

Teresa Rumbelow, HMP Parc 

Geoff Sykes, HMP Gartree


Winner: Wendy Price, HMP Drake Hall 

Michaela Fennel-Hyden, HMP Stafford

Ronnie Spence, HMP Northumberland


Winner: Governor Vicki Sampey, HMP Styal 

Penny Nixon and Natalie Hylands

Simon Torrance

Peer Mentors 

Winner: Oluseun, HMP Maidstone 

Andrew, HMP Wandsworth

David, HMP Gartree 


Read about the 2016 PLA Awards here

Read about the 2015 PLA Awards here